Ya know, it always makes me so mad when I hear someone who claims to be a Christian, saying Christians make them so mad, they don't want to be called a "Christian" anymore. I think it's just part of our society these days, or maybe my generation: we like to sit back and complain about the way things are, but we're too lazy/apathetic to do anything about it.
I was talking with a dude at one of our shows the other week who was upset because a rapper he had booked to play at a church was swearing in his music, and the Pastor of the church wanted him to be cut off. (is that really so much to ask? To ask that a dude that's droppin the f-bomb on a church alter to be cut off?)
The booker then goes into this rant about "this is what makes me not even want to be called a Christian anymore!"
The way I see it, Christian means: "Christ-follower". It's not a club name, it's not anything other than defining yourself as living for our Savior. I guess if you're not cool with being labeled a follower of Christ, or if you're ashamed of our Savior's name because of some black sheep in our Christian family, then I just have to wonder how committed you are to Christ in the first place?
This isn't meant to be judgmental even though it probably sounds like it. I just don't see how God could possibly be glorified by us being ashamed to bare his Son's name.
Jay Baker does that crap. Goes around swearing just for the sake of searing at youth events and then makes a tv show where his mission is to apologize for the evil of The Church. The dude doesn't get it, I don't think
ReplyDelete