Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Rockstar Jesus!

So I recently got this email with a picture of Jesus rockin out on an electric guitar that said "Jesus Rocks!" on it. It reminded me of when I was looking for a college to go to and I got a pamphlet from a school with Jesus crowd-surfing on the cover (in the interest of full-disclosure, I DID end up going there...). But I mean it's all the same isn't, Buddy Jesus, Dancing Jesus on our dashboard, all this stuff about how "cool" we can make Jesus, when really at the end of the day, Jesus' whole ministry was about doing things that by the standard of his day, was not "cool".
I think we Christians try to focus on the wrong things. Trying to be "cool" or make Jesus into a "cool dude". In fact, at a show my band played one of the guys working there said "God is such an awesome dude, and he loves you!" I think what most people are looking for in this world isn't a "cool dude", we have have enough dudes in this world who think they're cool.
People are looking for something meaningful. The Savior of our World. The God of all human-kind who's love is limitless, never-ending, never ceasing (Romans 8). So I think we need to stop trying so hard to focus on how cool Jesus is, and just start telling people about how Great his love for us is. Because at the end of the day, people are looking for a Savior that's "cool", they're looking to be loved.
And, I'm pretty sure God is far more concerned with people hearing of and feeling his love then people thinking he's a "Cool Dude."
(Did that all sound entirely too old man-ish?)

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

hatin on haters

Ya know, it always makes me so mad when I hear someone who claims to be a Christian, saying Christians make them so mad, they don't want to be called a "Christian" anymore. I think it's just part of our society these days, or maybe my generation: we like to sit back and complain about the way things are, but we're too lazy/apathetic to do anything about it.
I was talking with a dude at one of our shows the other week who was upset because a rapper he had booked to play at a church was swearing in his music, and the Pastor of the church wanted him to be cut off. (is that really so much to ask? To ask that a dude that's droppin the f-bomb on a church alter to be cut off?)
The booker then goes into this rant about "this is what makes me not even want to be called a Christian anymore!"
The way I see it, Christian means: "Christ-follower". It's not a club name, it's not anything other than defining yourself as living for our Savior. I guess if you're not cool with being labeled a follower of Christ, or if you're ashamed of our Savior's name because of some black sheep in our Christian family, then I just have to wonder how committed you are to Christ in the first place?
This isn't meant to be judgmental even though it probably sounds like it. I just don't see how God could possibly be glorified by us being ashamed to bare his Son's name.